07
Feb
13

Our Problems


This past week, one of my electronic devices, a wonderful piece of technology, began having what appears to be hardware issues.  This computer did this once before and after a day or two of problem solving I thought it would still serve me.  Two weeks ago a different computer went through a recurring issue, one that I can work around.  (For the record: one is an Apple device and the other Microsoft.)

As I was online looking for solutions, considering if I could finance a replacement, and wondering how to work without it, I came across a video from “Water is Life.” In the video individuals in Haiti read “First World Problems” while standing in dirt, in front of substandard housing, and in old ill-fitting clothes.  The sad part is, that the producers did not have to “stage” the backgrounds.  This is what the “Third World” looks like.

Their point came across – painfully across – as these people read these lines:

  • “I hate it when my phone charger won’t reach my bed.”
  • “I hate it when my leather seats aren’t heated.”
  • “I hate it when I go to the bathroom and forget my phone.”
  • “I hate it when I leave my clothes in the washer too long and they start to smell.”
  • “I hate it when my house is so big, I need two wireless routers.”
  • “I hate it when my mint gum makes my ice water taste too cold.”
  • “I hate it when I have to write my maid a check and I forget her last name.”
  • “I hate it when I can’t walk and text at the same time.”
  • “I hate it when I leave my charger downstairs.”
  • “I hate it when my neighbors block their WiFi.”
  • “I hate it when I tell them ‘no pickles’ and the still give me pickles.”

The video concludes, “First World problems are not problems.

I think I will stop complaining about a lot of things.

- Scott

Here is  the video:


Leave a Reply

Thanks for Visiting: You are number

wordpress hit counter

Past Posts

Central Church of Christ

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 126 other followers

Read my Tweets

ClustrMap: Who’s reading this?

Bible References

Unless otherwise indicated, all scripture quotations are from The Holy Bible, English Standard Version, copyright 2001 by Crossway Bibles, a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers, used by permission, all rights reserved.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 126 other followers

