16
Nov
11

I am a Christian


A friend of mine, Trey Morgan, posted the following statement on Facebook yesterday morning. I agree with this statement 100%. This statement stayed with me through the day yesterday and all morning. I find the fact that such a simple statement can be so profound. Here is what Trey posted:

“I’m not a Christian, nor do I go to church, because I’m strong and have it all together. I’m a Christian because I’m weak and admit I need a Savior.”

As I continued to reflect on this quote, many scriptures came to my mind. I remembered the words of Jesus, “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.” (Matt 5:3). I recalled the words of God to Paul in 2 Cor 12:9, “. . . My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.” And I also remembered Paul’s words in Rom 5:6, “For while we were still weak, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly.”

Dear Father,
Thank you for your compassionate grace to your creation. Thank you for loving us and risking Your life in Your Son for our salvation. I know that we, I know that I, disappoint You. I know that my weaknesses often prevent me from being the person I should be for You. But I know that You love me and provide a way for me to become righteous not by my strength, but by the Power of the death, burial, and resurrection of Your Son. Thank You Father for the Savior. Thank You for the Gift of Your Grace. I declare my need for You as Your child in Christ. In Jesus name . . .

20111116-100638.jpg

Scripture quotations are from the Holy Bible, English Standard Version, copyright 2001 by Crossways Bibles a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers. Used by permission, all rights reserved.


0 Responses to “I am a Christian”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Thanks for Visiting: You are number

wordpress hit counter

Past Posts

Central Church of Christ

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 126 other followers

Read my Tweets

ClustrMap: Who’s reading this?

Bible References

Unless otherwise indicated, all scripture quotations are from The Holy Bible, English Standard Version, copyright 2001 by Crossway Bibles, a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers, used by permission, all rights reserved.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 126 other followers

